Monday, November 25, 2013

Hall of Fame Inductees Named As Thanksgiving Day Game Approaches

Eight men will be inducted into the Phillipsburg/Easton Football Hall of Fame Thursday,  with the ceremony taking place beginning at 9 a.m. Thanksgiving morning at Lafayette College’s Kirby Sports Center prior to the 107th battle between the two arch-rival schools.

This year's Hall of Fame class includes four players or coaches from each school. The inductees were selected from a long list of eligible candidates, and membership is based on accomplishments during their high school football careers.  There is a ten-year waiting period for players to be considered eligible. 

The inductees representing Easton in the 2013 class are players Chuck Amato '63, Joe Parsons '68, John Critelli '76, and Frankie Lane '86.

The inductees representing Phillipsburg in the 2013 class are players Joe Dilts '41, George Snyder '54, Joe Luke '94, and Brandon Mason '03. 

The athletic offices of the two schools have sanctioned local football enthusiasts from both sides of the river to select the inductees into the Hall of Fame.  There are 11 members of the Hall of Fame Committee. 

This year’s recipients will be recognized during the Thanksgiving Day game and will receive personal plaques commemorating their induction.  In addition, their names will appear on large plaques located in gymnasium lobby areas of each school.  The Garnet Booster Club of Phillipsburg and the Alumni Varsity “E” Club of Easton sponsor the plaques.

But even if you can't get to the game, there are a number of ways to enjoy it from home. The game is set to be broadcast on Service Electric and WFMZ 69.

Those that don't have cable can stream the game online here for $4.95 at this link.

And, leading up to the big day, MaxPreps, affiliated with CBSSports, is documenting the rivalry, and will also cover the event. Click here for the details.

No comments:

Post a Comment